Political system

The Republic of Slovenia is a parliamentary representative democratic republic, which came into existence after the disintegration of Yugoslavia in 25 June 1991.

The legislative is created by the bicameral Parliament of Slovenia, which is composed of National Assembly (Državni zbor) and National Council (Državni svet), which is perceive as the upper house.

According to constitution, National Assembly is the major part of Slovenian Parliament and consist of 90 members (where 88 of them are Slovenian and 2 are representing ethnic minorities: Italians and Hungarians). Members are elected at four years term. Current president of National Assembly, from 1 August 2014 is Milan Brglez.

As was mentioned, National Council is believed as the upper house, because of a legislative function working as the advisory (corrective) mechanism of Državni zbor. 40 elected representatives of employers, employees, farmers, tradesmen and the self-employed, as well as from the non-economic sector and local interest groups. The councilors are elected for a five-year term. From December 2012, president of the National Council is Mitja Bervar.

Last election was held on 13 July 2014 and was completely surprise. The winner has became new party, held by lawyer Miro Cerar, who won the election with over 34% of the vote and 36 seats. Thereby, his party eliminated the winner of the last election in 2011, Zoran Jankovic’s Positive Slovenia.

 The executive is represented by the Government (Vlada Republike Slovenije) and the President of Slovenia.

The office of President exists since 23rd December 1991, after Slovenia obtained independence, when National Assembly passed a new constitution. The head of the state is elected for five years terms and he can hold power at maximum for two successive terms. The President is Commander in Chief of the Slovenian Armed Forces, but generally he has representative role. Last election in 2012 won Borut Pahor.

The presidential function entails great authority, but lacks major powers to manage the state.

The greatest powers are held by the government, which consists of Prime Minister (currently is Miro Cerar) and 16 ministers (two of them are ministers without portfolio). The Vlada and the ministers are independent within the framework of their jurisdiction, and responsible to the National Assembly. For the government’s task is for instance to propos budget, manage relations with other states (foreign policy) and execute the domestic policy, coordinate activities of the government agencies, adopt decrees to implement the law.

The judiciary in Slovenia is implemented by courts with general responsibilities and specialized courts which deal with matters relating to specific legal areas. The judicial system comprises several types of courts and is hierarchically divided in three instances. The highest court is the Supreme Court of the Republic of Slovenia (Vrhovno sodišče Republike Slovenije).

However, The Constitutional Court is separated from judiciary system and it decides on the conformity of laws with the Constitution. It is composed of nine judges – legal experts. They are elected for a term of nine years.


Macroeconomic data

  • GDP Q/Q:

    2013 Q1 – 0,1%,

    2013 Q2 – 0,1%,

    2013 Q3 – 0,5%,

    2013 Q4 – 1,2%,

    2014 Q1 – 0%,

    2014 Q2 – 1 %

  • GDP/Capita:

    2011 – 29 000 USD

    2012-28,200 USD

    2013 – 27,400 USD

  • Inflation Rate (Y/Y):

    January 2014     0,7%

    February 2014   0,8%

    March 2014        0,2%

    April 2014           0,6%

    May 2014            0,4%

    June 2014           0,7%

    July 2014             0,8%

  • Budget deficit:

    2010 – 6,3%

    2011 – 5.9%

    2012 – 6,4%

    2013  – 4%



  • Public debt:

    2012      47,1%

    2013      54,4%

    2014      71,7%

  • Unemployments (monthly):

    April 2014           13,9%

    May 2014            13,4%

    June 2014           13,0%

    July 2014             12,8%

    August 2014       12,7%

  • Export netto / GDP:

    2010 – 65.9%

    2011 – 72.3%

    2012 – 75.4%

    2013 – 77.5%



Name: Dnevnik (The Daily) Type: daily newspaper Owner(s): DZS, d.d. Foundation: June 1951 Headquarters: Ljubljana, Slovenia Editor: Zlatko Šetinc Official...

Read more

Name: Delo (Labour) Type: daily newspaper Owner(s): Pivovarna Laško Foundation: May 1959 Headquarters: Ljubljana, Slovenia Editor:  Mateja Babič Stermecki Official...

Read more


Name: Večer (Evening) Type: daily newspaper Owner(s): Delo, d.d. Foundation: May 1945 Headquarters: Ljubljana, Slovenia Editor: Katja Šeruga Official website:...

Read more

Slovenske novice

Name: Slovenske novice (Slovenian news) Type: daily newspaper Owner(s): Delo, d.d. Foundation: 1991 Headquarters: Ljubljana, Slovenia Editor: Bojan Budja Official...

Read more

The Slovenia Times

Name: The Slovenia Times Type: monthly magazine Owner(s): Domus d.o.o. Foundation: March 2003 Headquarters: Ljubljana, Slovenia Editor: Tilen Majnardi Official...

Read more


Name: Finance (The Finance Business Daily; Poslovni dnevnik finance) Type: daily newspaper Owner(s): Bonnier Group Foundation: May 1992 Headquarters: Ljubljana,...

Read more


Name: Mladina Type: weekly newspaper Owner(s): Mladina časopisno podjetje d. d Foundation: 1943 Headquarters: Ljubljana, Slovenia Editor: Grega Repovž Official...

Read more


Name: Radio Televizija Slovenija (Radio-Television of Slovenia; RTV) Type: broadcast television and online Owner(s): Government of Republic of Slovenia Foundation:...

Read more


Name: POP TV Type: broadcast television Owner(s): PRO PLUS d.o.o. (which is a part of the American Central European Media Enterprises...

Read more

Kanal A

Name: Kanal A Type: broadcast television Owner(s): PRO PLUS d.o.o. (which is a part of the American Central European Media Enterprises...

Read more

Name: Radio Televizija Slovenija (Radio-Television of Slovenia; RTV) Type: broadcast radio Owner(s): Government of Republic of Slovenia Foundation: 1928 (radio);...

Read more

Key companies


Full name: Petrol d.d. Abbreviation: Petrol Foundation: April 1947 Headquarters: Ljubljana, Slovenia Industry: oil and gas Key people (CEO): Rok...

Read more


Full name: Poslovni sistem Mercator, d.d Abbreviation: Mercator d. d Foundation: 1949 Headquarters: Ljubljana, Slovenia Industry: retail   Key people...

Read more


Full name: Holding Slovenske elektrarne d.o.o. Abbreviation: HSE d.o.o. Foundation: July 2001 Headquarters: Ljubljana, Slovenia Industry: energy Key people (CEO):...

Read more


Full name: Nova Ljubljanska banka d. d. Abbreviation: NLB Headquarters: Ljubljana, Slovenia Industry: financial services Key people (CEO): Janko Medja,...

Read more


Full name: Zavarovalnica Triglav (Triglav Group) Abbreviation: Triglav Foundation: 1900 Headquarters: Ljubljana, Slovenia Industry: insurances   Key people (CEO): Andrej...

Read more


Full name: ACH, družba za gospodarjenje z naložbami, d.d., Ljubljana Abbreviation: ACH Foundation: 1952 Headquarters: Ljubljana, Slovenia Industry: holding/management Key...

Read more


Full name: Lek d.d. or Lek Pharmaceutical And Chemical Company d.d. Abbreviation: Lek d.d. Foundation: 1946 Headquarters: Ljubljana, Slovenia Industry:...

Read more


Full name: Revoz d.d. Abbreviation: Revoz Foundation: June 1988 Headquarters: Nove Mesto, Slovenia Industry: automotive   Key people (CEO): Patrice...

Read more


Full name: Sava Reinsurance Company d.d. Abbreviation: Sava Re Foundation: 1973 Headquarters: Ljubljana, Slovenia Industry: insurance Key people (CEO): Zvonko...

Read more